>Reading Together

>So my husband and I got super tired of only watching movies and t.v. together when he comes home from work everyday. But we really didn’t know what else we could do instead. Most board games are more fun when there are 3+ people playing. I stink at card games and we can only sit and talk for so long.

We came upon our new hobby kind of by accident. We were in the car riding to a shopping center and I started reading a book that I had left in the car. I asked Matthew if he wanted me to read it out loud so it would seem less like I was shutting him out. He told me only if I wanted to, which was code for, that is one of your girly christian romance novels, so if you make me listen I will. So…I started reading. By the time we got back to the shopping center, I didn’t have him hooked, but he was interested. I read it some more on our way home and even more once we got home. He is now thoroughly engrossed in the story and we are taking turns reading it whenever we have a little time together.

In case you were wondering what book it is, its Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers. It is a wonderful story and I have read it many times. It is easy to read out loud because the chapters are really short. I am not sure exactly what we will read after we are done, maybe a book Matthew likes. I am thinking about Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.

What do you do to spend time together? Anything unique?

Make sure you check out my camera strap cover giveaway. It ends on Friday, don’t be left out.

This entry was posted in Family Time, My Hubby. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to >Reading Together

  1. >Hi Tara! New to you! LOVE your blog title!!! So cute! …& the stay at home wife comment made me LOL cuz I was one for 2 years b4 i had our first child! 😉 great blog! Hope u'll come say hi!

  2. >How fun! Michael and I read together for a little while, but it was a "how to improve your relationship" type. Good book though, called more than a match.

  3. Angela Brian says:

    >oh goodness. your making me blush.you are just a doll for putting me on your blog roll.you totally made my day!-i'm sure i'll comment again soon -ang

  4. Lisa says:

    >love that book! also my hubs and i are starting to read together as well!

  5. Melissa says:

    >This is so cute. I would love to start this with my husband! Actually, you are the second person I've encountered who said they do this. The other is reading the Twilight series 🙂

  6. >Tara!!! My mom is also on fb and was on chat at the time! I was like MOMMM!!!! OMG!!!! Did you see it?! Did you see it?! Thx for stopping by! planning on buying "Redeeming Love" this weekend! looking forward to reading it! =)

  7. Lu says:

    >How sweet! The Mr. and I can't read books that one or the other of us really love together because one of us will cheat and read without the other. 🙂 Instead, we try to read good books that maybe we've read before so that we're not in suspense and we can stimulate some conversation.Thanks for stopping by my Wednesdays on the Web guest post over at Housewife Eclectic. You can catch up with me the other days of the week at just Lu. I am really enjoying your posts, so I am now your newest follower!

  8. >Redeeming Love is a great book! Maybe when the sweetheart and I get married we'll do something like that – I read a TON and he never reads…so I'd probably be reading to him mostly. 😉 We shall see!

Leave a Reply

