>10 weeks

>10 weeks.

10 weeks of classes to teach you how to be a parent to children who have very possibly been through things I cannot even dream up. Yeah right.

This is what the DHR in our state requires of a foster parent. A ten week class. Oh, and a home study to make sure I am not a total creeper who is planning on storing these kids in the basement and eating them for dinner. It just doesn’t seem like enough.

Now don’t get me wrong, I hated going to the classes every Thursday night from 6-9pm. I mean really, I missed Bones, the best show ever to grace a TV screen. Maybe it is because I have never been a parent and do not know what it feels like to intuitively take care of a child. All I know is that after 10 classes I feel no more prepared to be the parent of a foster child than I did before.

To be totally honest, at this point, I don’t really FEEL like being a foster parent. I know it is what Matthew and I are supposed to be doing at this point (why waste this time while waiting for Annie, can you say on the job training?) But I want to be a mom. A forever mom. I know these children WILL go back to another momma somewhere else. I don’t want to share, I’m selfish. I know that there are children out there for us. Forever children. I just want them now. I want what everyone else seems to have, but then I remember, mom never said life was fair.

This entry was posted in Adoption, Baby Care, Bringing Annie Home, DHR, Family Time, Foster Care, Hope, Trying to Conceive. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to >10 weeks

  1. >I admire you for doing it…I have often thought about fostering but never actually made any moves towards doing it. I think it would be extremely hard for me and I have kids of my own, so I think it would be even harder for someone who doesn't to keep giving back these kids. Prayers to you!

Leave a Reply

