>The New Year = Book List

>Happy almost Christmas/New Year to all! One thing that the New Year brings is resolutions, something that I have never made before but I decided to start this year. I am not going to resolve to lose weight (even though I should) I am not going to resolve to eat better (even though I am going to try) I am not going to resolve to quit smoking (’cause I never have smoked in my life). I am going to resolve to READ!

I love reading and now that I am finished with college I do not have assigned reading EVER AGAIN! So now it is up to me to fill my brain with the written word and I am starting now! I have set a goal to read 45 books this year, but looking at the 20+ books I have already picked out, I think I am going to start with these and see where I stand when I am done! Do ya wanna see my book list so far? These are in no particular order but here we go;

1.       Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
2.       Journal of Jim Elliot- Jim Elliot
3.       CS Lewis Signature Classics- CS Lewis
4.       Crazy Love- Francis Chan
5.       Radical- David Platt
6.       Wuthering Heights- Emily Bronte
7.       Ivanhoe- Sir Walter Scott
8.       Discipline: The Glad Surrender- Elisabeth Elliot
9.       On Asking God Why- Elisabeth Elliot
10.   Hungry for God- John Piper
11.   Too Small to Ignore- Dr. Wess Stafford
12.   To Kill a Mockingbird- Harper Lee
13.   Dracula- Bram Stoker
14.   The Great Gatsby- F. Scott Fitzgerald
15.   Jane Eyre- Charlotte Bronte
16.   Pride and Prejudice- Jane Austen
17.   Night- Elie Wiesel
18.   Dawn- Elie Wiesel
19.   Day – Elie Wiesel
20.   East of Eden- John Steinbeck
21.   The Story of Edgar Sawtelle- David Wroblewski
22.   The Bluest Eye- Toni Morrison
23.   Great Expectations- Charles Dickens
24.   Lolita- Vladimir Nabokov
25.   The Other Boleyn Girl- Philippa Gregory
26.   The Alchemist- Paulo Coelho
27.   As I Lay Dying- William Faulkner
28.   Love in the Time of Cholera- Gabriel Garcia Marquez.
29.   Flannery O’Conner- A Good Man is Hard to Find
     
       Wow. That is a lot of reading! Let me know what you think of my book choices and if you would like to add any to my reading list! Happy Reading! What are your New Year’s resolutions
This entry was posted in Christmas, Reading Resolution. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to >The New Year = Book List

  1. >WOW! That's a great (and ambitious) reading list for the coming year. May God bless you richly.

  2. >Boo to Great Expectations and The Great Gatsby! (Ironic how they both have the words "great" in them…) I read them both in high school and didn't find either interesting. We read the condensed version of Great Expectations and it was too much! But it is worth reading over just to meet Mrs. Havisham. She is one of the most interesting literary characters of all time! Gatsby just kept me confused most of the time, but I know some who enjoyed it. Let me know what you think of them with a brain that's not being forced to read it! LoLI listened to Pride and Prejudice and Wuthering Heights and loved them both. You won't truly like any of the characters in Wuthering Heights, but they are worth meeting. Heathcliff is another great literary character you should know!

  3. >I've read several of the books on your list. Ivanhoe is really good. I love Pride and Prejudice. I have Anna Karenina and Dracula, but have yet to read them. Wuthering Heights, The Other Boleyn Girl, and Jane Eyre are okay. They have their boring parts and their really good parts. The Great Gatsby – meh.I love the Outlander series. There are seven books in the series. I've only read three so far. There's some sex and profanity, which I'm not really fond of, but the story is great.Other favorites: The Lovely Bones, The Kommandant's Girl, The Diplomat's Wife, Sense and Sensibility, Persuasion (I still have to read Jane Austen's other books), The Kite Runner, A Thousand Splendid Suns, Gone With the Wind, and The Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Leave a Reply

