>Apples…

>Let me tell you a little about myself. I don’t like most veggies. Sorry all. I like green beans, lettuce, cucumbers, RAW carrots, celery and tomatoes. It’s a short list. I know. Do you want to know how I make up for it? I LOVE FRUIT! With the exception of most melons, I adore fruit. Apples, grapes and strawberries are the best! My favorite apples are the blush colored ones (I think that is what they are called) I don’t know exactly which brand I like best so I decided to find out. Living in the town we do…we have pretty limited choices…2 to be exact.

Here are the contenders:

Gala on the left, Fuji on the right
Here is their blush-y side

At first look, I liked the Fuji better for one simple reason…it was bigger. More apple = more yum. Other than that the only thing I could glean from the apples at face value is that Theo liked the smell of the Fuji better. Licked it a couple of times to let me know he liked it better. Made sure to wash that one really well before eating! Now for the cutting!

Don’t you just want an apple? 
Unlike the last time, the Gala seems to look better (still on left)! The Fuji looks kind of weird…yellowish in the middle even though it had been cut mere moments before. 
Lastly, the eating! I didn’t take a pictures of that…it was a stay in my pajamas day today, sorry. 
Fuji- Stronger flavor, a little more tart than I like (may have just been that particular apple)
Gala- Better all around texture than the Fuji. Sweeter flavor. My choice. 
In the end I think I would choose flavor over size! Gala is the winner! What is your favorite apple?
This entry was posted in Food, Theo. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to >Apples…

  1. >Empires are my favorite. They are pretty tart, but I like them that way! I prefer them really cold, right out of the fridge!

  2. >I loooooove a good Red Delicious and Granny Smith. I use Gala in my smoothies (usually to sweeten up an otherwise gross green veggie smoothie)!

  3. Shannon says:

    >Fuji is my hubby's favorite… mine is a sweet variety called Pink Lady! I've even seem them called Crisps Pink. They are very juicy, very sweet, and very good for snacking! If you can find one, give it a try 🙂

  4. >I love apples! I remember in my childhood 4 kilos for a week was so small quantity! Thanks to share such a touching story!

  5. Heidi says:

    >I gotta go with those crisp and fresh granny smith all the way, girl!

  6. Bdubs says:

    >Gala all the way. Best apples around!

  7. Kimberly says:

    >I don't have a favorite apple because I'm the opposite of you. I can eat almost every veggie on the planet, but very few fruits (strawberries, blueberries – baked into things, avocado and watermelon. That's it! How 'bout I eat your veggies for you and I'll send you all my fruit!

  8. Katherine says:

    >When I first moved to the midwest, i was amazed by how many different kinds of apples there are! My favorite has to be Honeycrisp!

  9. >I love honeycrisp and johnagold apples. I think your fuji might not have been at it's peak – they don't usually look like that when they're cut!

Leave a Reply

