Get You Here: A Guest Post

This guest post today is a pretty special one. This is not only a wonderful story about a couple’s heart for adoption, it is also a way for you to support them on their adoption journey. There will be more details on how YOU can help at the end of the post. You can get more info about their adoption journey here.

I knew I would need to marry a special guy. I have been interested in adoption for a long time. At first, it just seemed like something fun to do. Then, when I was in high school, my pastor and his wife adopted twins from Africa. She blogged with such honesty about the joys and sorrows that get all mixed together in the adoption process. She helped me understand God’s heart for orphans, as well as all the wonderful ways adoption is linked to the Gospel. In college, I felt God giving me a preview of a life that wasn’t quite what I’d imagined. This life was one with a primary ministry of adoption, parenting, and ministering to others wanting to adopt. It was a call I heard clearly, and one I have fully and happily accepted.

My husband and I talked about adoption after only a couple months of dating. He’d invited himself to a foster care + adoption forum I was attending at a local church. We sat at a table with three married couples. We were really probably the only unmarried couple in the whole place. And definitely the youngest.

Afterwards, we went to a park to chat in a pavilion in the middle of a thunderstorm. I told Dan my heart: “I want to be a mom, and I want to be a mom to adopted kids. I even think I want to adopt before any other method of adding kids to my family. I believe God has set this before me as my main ministry in life.” I was pleasantly surprised that he didn’t think I was crazy! I had prayed for a husband who would be all in on this adoption issue. I quickly fell hard for his kindness, humility, discipline, and hilarity. Dan’s a medical student, and I was getting my Master’s in Social Work. We got married during our Christmas breaks in December 2011.

Before too long, we felt a tug to start considering adopting before the two- to three-year plan we had discussed while engaged. I brought this to Dan, and we had some hard, honest conversations about what it meant to start the adoption process now. We cried and laughed a lot. We kept wondering if we were crazy. Yes, we want to be parents. But we don’t need to be parents, and it’s not about us. It’s about meeting the needs of parentless children.

In May, I graduated and got a job, and we started the adoption process just about as quickly as we could. It was scary to fill out the initial application. I had legitimate worries about being turned down for a variety of reasons. We’re young, we’re newlyweds, and my husband is still a student. We love God, each other, and adoption pretty fiercely.

We set out to adopt one baby of either gender from a big country in Africa*. I’ll be honest: We talked in depth off and on about whether or not we should take an extra big plunge and adopt two kids at once. Several of our friends had, and they recommended it for many reasons. In the end, we decided that it was a really big plunge. And I was worried about stupid stuff, like how I would ever be able to make it out of the house to go to Target with two kids.

In the end, we decided to ask our home study worker to approve us for two children, while still only requesting a referral for one… Just in case, you know! We didn’t feel peace about totally removing two kids at once as an option.

Referral time came, and I found myself reading a totally wonderful and surprising email in the middle of night. I’ve gotten in the bad habit of checking my email in the middle of the night, but I’m happy I did this time! I could. not. sleep. So I woke up my husband to tell him the news. Then we did. not. sleep.

Over the course of a couple days, we talked, cried, laughed, and prayed A LOT. We’d been given an opportunity we’d forgotten was possible. It would stretch us more than we had been preparing for. And then, we made our decision:  We are adopting twin baby boys!

We accepted this referral with full trust in God… that He will provide the financial means for us to bring them home and the wisdom + energy for us to parent them well. God has brought us this far with very few bumps in the road. We continue to pray for His guidance, and we will step by step as we adopt and parent these little boys. We are so excited! God’s writing such a fantastic story for us + our boys.

*for privacy reasons, I can’t share the name of the specific country!

Amazing, right? Twins!! I am so excited for them and can’t wait to see how their journey to their sons unfolds. So now…how can you help? 

-Pray. Pray. Pray. Pray for finances, for the legal process to go smoothly, for a smooth transition…pray!

Buy. What? T-shirts. Soft, comfy, cute…see for yourself…

 These shirts are great, Matthew and I both have one and we will getting one for Mary Alice soon. They are shipped SUPER fast and would make some sweet Christmas gifts…hint hint…  

Here are the kiddo shirts:

Here is a little bit of the design detail: 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

