A letter to my daughter: a guest post

This post is written by my wonderful husband to our precious Mary Alice. 

Mary Alice,

I have waited so long to be able to meet you and hold you. I had no idea what to expect but you have brought more joy than I could have ever imagined. Before you came home I was told many things about being the father of a little girl but the one bit of advice that I have come to realize is truly wisdom is not to waste the time I have with you. You have grown so quickly and have changed so much in the four months that we have been together. It seems that life keeps getting faster and I keep getting slower. But I do not want to miss a day of your little life. I know that one day soon you will no longer be the little girl whose diaper I changed. Soon we will no longer have bath time in the kitchen sink. You will no longer be the daughter that had to be carried everywhere; you will soon be the headstrong and stubborn girl who will accept help from no one…except me of course.

One day you will read this letter and there are several things I want you to know. Mostly Mary Alice, I want you to know that you are loved. Even though you are very young, your strong willed stubborn personality has been clear. There have been times where we have butted heads and there will surely be more times where we do not agree. Yet, even though our stubborn personalities will clash I love you no matter what. You were loved before your birth and before we even knew your name. You are by no means an accident or unwanted but you were intended far before we understood what God was doing. As you read this one day I hope and pray you will understand all the glorious providence in our story. I hope you will see God’s mighty hand in your little life and in ours. I hope you see His goodness throughout the stages of your life and adoption. God has been far better to us than we deserve and I am eternally grateful for the short time I have with you and the blessed opportunity I have to share the reality of His love with you.

With love and affection,

Poppa Daddy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A letter to my daughter: a guest post

  1. luggagelady says:

    This is breathtaking. Hugs and blessings to a beautiful family!! xo

  2. Sarah Yoder says:

    This is just too precious! (Seriously, made me tear-up) what a lucky princess to have such a great dad! 🙂

  3. aleks says:

    beautiful! what a great father miss mary alice has, and a wonderful husband you have.

  4. Samantha says:

    Beautiful! I love when dads get sentimental (especially on a blog). She is one lucky little lady!

Leave a Reply

