Advice.

I had a class in college where we had a mentor throughout the class in the field we planned on going into after we graduated. They had to have an advanced degree in the field and be approved by the professor. I planned on being a minister’s wife and a mother. You should have seen the professor’s face when I asked him what kind of advanced degree my mentor needed to have!

I ended up with the BEST mentor ever. She was the wife of another one of my professors and the mother of six children. I learned a lot from her that semester. Near the end of the class I asked her for advice on being a minister’s wife and a mother. I just found the piece of paper again and I thought I would share it with you.

On being a minister’s wife:

-be the one he can talk with no matter what. Make sure he knows he can trust you and everything that you discuss will be kept safe and confidential.

-never make him or let him counsel with another woman alone.

-be his best friend.

-never EVER discuss, think about or threaten divorce!

-try to find balance between loving and defending your children and keeping your husband first (under Christ of course).

On being a mother:

-find a balance between enjoying and loving them and holding them too close and smothering them.

-find a balance in how much you tell them about the world. They need to be informed but how much?

-remember every child is unique — be flexible!

Great advice, right? Simple and powerful.

What is the best advice you have ever received on being a wife and mom?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Advice.

  1. Stacy Voss says:

    I love my mentors! They have fed me and fueled me in more ways than I could ever describe. Such a blessing!

Leave a Reply

